Trying to Gain Mass...

Hello,

This is my first post here. I have been working out for the past 5-6 years (not consistently). This time I am trying to be as determined as I can to stick with something to get the results I want.

When I first started to workout, I weighed about 135lbs at 6’0. Now I am about 150lbs now. Right now I go to the gym about 4 times a week for about 45min to an hour (depends on the day and how much time I have).

I have noticed a great improvement in my strength, but when it comes to body weight, I cannot gain to what I want to see, which is about 175-180lbs.

I know that a lot to do with weight gain is the way you eat and the supplements you take. Right now I am taking Whey Maxx protein and going to start on EAS Phosphagen HP creatine (just waiting for it to be shipped :/). I know whey isn’t a gainer. I am going to finish this off and then go look at getting a gainer.

So my question is, for someone who knows a little bit, but not that much. Can someone point me in the right direction on how to start a good diet for weight gain. I want something I can stick to. Also, what suggestions do any of you have on a good protein gainer?

Thanks in advance.

Excuse my lack of sympathy, but 15lbs in 4 years is all you put on? LOL.

OK, now that I got that out the way. First of all some stats would be good - age, diet sample, goals, etc. Are you a hard gai…no wait, nevermind. You are not eating enough - start a food log & write down everything you eat.

You should be eating at least 200kcal above maintenance level. Forget supplements beside fish oil & whey protein. Thats all. You don’t need a weight gainer - all you need is the right food.

Then, read these 2 articles and if you adhere to them correctly, you will start adding weight provided you are training enough with intensity.

Massive Eating Part 1:
http://www.T-Nation.com/readTopic.do?id=459429

Massive Eating Part 2:
http://www.T-Nation.com/readTopic.do?id=459431

Hope this helps.