Trying to Continue Great Gains

Hello,

I just started lifting weights about 4 months ago. This is after a 4 year hiatus following shoulder surgery during high school. So far, the results have been amazing. I work out with twice as much weight if not more in many of my lifts now than I did when the workouts began.

I am 6’3" 230 lbs 18% body fat. The only number that has changed in the last 4 months is that body fat is down 7-8%. So, I have gained about 18 lbs of muscle. I lift each body part 2 times a week except my abs are worked 3 times a week. The workouts last 1 hour and 30 minutes and are begin within the first 2-3 hours of when I awake. This puts me in the gym 6 mornings a week. I have just started law school and studying for a professional finance exam. The workload for me to succeed in these two programs will take a significant amount of studying. For the first two weeks I have kept up with both exercise and academics without drinking more than 16 oz of coffee. I am worried that excessive amounts of caffeine/coffee will prevent me from maximizing my gains in the gym. However, my academic performance will be much better if I drink about 60 oz of coffee a day. Am I right to be concerned about excessive caffeine intake? How about if I take in enough water to counter some of the negative effects? What are some alternatives to caffeine that I should consider?

Thanks.

Sleep is a pretty good alternative.

If you time when you drink your coffee correctly you might not need to drink as much.

Good with the weightlifting…what’s the routine like?

I have 3 different routines to cover my muscle groups. They are as follows:
(1) Legs
Squat
Leg Extension
Leg Curl
Lunges
Calf Machine
Standing Calf Raises
Glue Machine

(2) Chest, Shoulders,Tris
DB Flat Bench
DB Incline Bench
DB Decline Bench
Shoulder Press
Flat Bench Flys
Skull Crushers (Tricep exercise with bent bar)
Lateral Raises
Front Raises
Tricep Pull Down
Shoulder Shrug
Dips

(3) Back, Biceps
One Arm Dumbell Row