T Nation

Trying to Build a Beginner Program

Hello CT,

After trying numerous programs I've finally had to swallow my pride and come to terms with the fact that I am a beginner. As far as I can tell, you do not have any programs geared for beginners. On another thread you made some recommendations, but I could not find the programs anywhere. Therefore I've decided to try my hand at making a beginner program for myself.

I like to think of this as a true beginner program, so I've used untrained strength standards as the starting weights. The primary goal for this program is technical proficiency. I feel like in the few months I've been training I've tried to go too hard too fast, so I want to spend some time mastering the lifts. That said, I plan to use three techniques by Joel Seedman that help train the movements: Hanging Band Technique (HBT), Bottom Up (BU), and Eccentric Isometrics EI) - not sure if this is foolish or not. Since this is mostly about technique, I aimed for high frequency and fairly light loads. However, since I'm still a beginner, I'm not sure if I have gauged this correctly. I know you don't usually critique programs, but any help you can provide would be helpful:

M/W/F:
HBT Deficit Deadlift w/EI - 6x3-5 @ 110 lbs (70% untrained strength)
Cable Pull-throughs - 6x6-8
Wall Drills - 2x15
HBT Bench Press w/EI - 6x3-5 @ 65 lbs. (70% untrained strength)
BU DB Bench Press - 6x6-8 @ 30 lbs./hand
Low Cable Row - 6x6-8
Face Pulls - 6x6-8

T/TH/S:
HBT Back Squat w/EI - 6x3-5 @ 90 lbs. (70% untrained strength)
BU DB Squats - 6x6-8 @ 40 lbs./hand
Wall Squats - 2x15
HBT OH Press w/EI - 6x3-5 @ 40 lbs. (70% untrained strength)
BU DB OH Press w/EI - 6x6-8 @ 20 lbs.
Lat Pulldown w/EI - 6x6-8 @ 100 lbs.
Straight Arm Pulldown w/EI - 6x6-8 @ 60 lbs.

Sunday: OFF

For reference, I'm 35 years old, 6'0", 210 lbs., and have been training about 6 months.