Truck Pull Beginner

I started training Strongman recently and would like any tips and tricks that may help. I am the first person pulling in the video. I weigh around 160 and was having some issues with grip and my shoes.

Keep in mind, I am terrible at the truck pull, but the 2 biggest things I think would help is switching to rock climbing shoes and focusing on walking in a straight line. If you start weaving left and right, you waste a lot of energy NOT going straight. You’re doing a good job of keeping your shoulders down, which is pretty crucial, so kudos for that. I was terrible at that part, haha.

1 Like

Thanks for the advice. I may not be able to get rock climbing shoes anytime soon but I will definitely work on walking in a straight line. Any advice on what I can do at the gym to improve my pulling?

Do you do any unilateral work? That seems to be the missing variable for moving events, especially like this (I’m guilty of it).

I got a cheapo pair of shoes online. They are MISERABLE to wear, but they work awesome for truck pulls.

1 Like

The unilateral work is definitely missing though it sounds really obvious when I think about it now. I would incorporate some lunge work into my training from now on. This is part 2 of that session btw.

I did some more pulling yesterday with a lighter pickup and got a chance to really work on my technique

Partial ROM or Trap Bar deadlift with strengthen your legs. Really, any partial range of motion movement that you can get strong with will help you pull faster. I know people who can squat a lot more than me who struggle to pull a 600lb chain, that I can basically jog with, for example.

For the grip youre going to have to train with a thick bar for your deadlifts.

For unilateral work you can carry rocks or weights up a hill. Lunges wont help you (do you lunge with the truck, no). If you can do farmers carry up a ramp that will get you strong and work your grip.