T Nation

TRT, HCG, and DHT

Hi all I’m only 7 weeks into TRT with Defy. All good so far. First follow up in about 2 weeks with labs. Question for the group - I opted to keep things simple and start with just T Cyp @ 80mg twice per week (I have high SHBG). Again, things are going well and couldn’t care less about testicular atrophy (cosmetically) and we already have 3 kids. However, I’ve been reading a lot about how “mandatory” HCG is for LH receptors, etc. I plan to talk to defy about this, but did want to understand if T only without HCG will have a negative impact (lower) my DHT levels. Prior to Clomid monotherapy about 9 years ago, my DHT was below normal with TT around 470. I’m assuming that as long as my TT is high or high-normal, DHT will follow, but wanted to make sure I’m not making the wrong assumption as I’m brand new to TRT and don’t plan on adding HCG at the moment.

Thanks!

1 Like

Testosterone converts to estrogen and dihydrotestosterone (DHT), so having low T it’s no surprise DHT was low. Adding HCG can complicate your TRT protocol and make you feel less benefit, few men feel good on HCG.

There are some men who will get a decrease in magnesium and pregnenolone do to LH deprivation, some won’t notice the lower pregnenolone and some will, but that’s an easy fix by supplementing it.

You tackle each problem when, if it occurs.

Great. Don’t want to make this any more complicated than needed. Loving the simple T only approach (plus my normal supps). So it sounds like even T only, as long as my TT and Free T ranges are optimal, DHT won’t suffer, right?

Just don’t want to create some long term harm a la propecia use and DHT shutdown. Long shot, I know, just scares the shit out of me as I hadn’t a multi-year battle coming off SSRIs 10 years ago.

Only two reasons for adding hCG, fertility and/or prevention of testicular atrophy.