TRT for Hypogo 3rd Class Medical for Pilots

I thought I would chronicle my TRT here since there are so many with knowledge on this site. I’ll take any advice I can get since talking about it is the only way I can learn more about it.

I am a Mechanical Engineer by profession. I also hold a private pilots license. I have learned a lot here as I have been lurking for a couple of years now. This is my first post.

One of the things I am careful about is not losing my private pilots license. The FAA can cancel your medical license (which allows you to fly) if you are taking any prescription drugs that are not approved by them, TRT included. This means that first a pilot has to go to an FAA doctor. That doctor gives them the run down about rules and regulations.

The FAA is mostly concerned that you are not doing anything that will mess with your mind. Nothing that will make you tired or interfere with your reasoning. Certainly nothing that will make you feel low or depressed. So I use caution before a doctor writes any prescription. My FAA doctor referred me to an endocrinologist for TRT.

Having a special written note about your TRT with special wording is needed to keep the medical license required to fly airplanes. Finding an endocrinologist for TRT done right is difficult enough without the FAA looking over their shoulder. My hope is that whatever I experience in my quest for better health under so many watchful eyes will be helpful to others.

After reading the stickies and advice of KSman and others here is my case information.

Height: 5 feet 11 inches
Weight: 190lb
Body hair is minimal