TRT and the Endurance Athlete

Hello all. I’m new to the forum and this is my first post. I have been on TRT for just shy of 16 months but I am new to this whole science and wanted to get some experienced opinions to work in conjunction with my doctor’s professional guidance as to my best course of action going forward. I look forward to being part of this forum.

About me. First, I am unemployed at the moment and pay for all of my medical expenses in cash.

I am a 5’9 172lbs 39yo active male with a healthy and very active lifestyle. I am primarily a cyclist but also do some running 6 days per week on average. I eat fairly clean - no dairy, lots of oatmeal, brown rice, chicken, fish, fresh fruits and veggies, (kale shakes everyday kind of guy). I don’t drink alcohol or smoke . Currently, I take a multi, 6000iu of D3, and 1000mg of l-arganine daily. The preceeding may/may not be relevant, but I wanted to be as forthcoming as possible.

I have always been an athlete of sorts. Basketball and track were my thing until my early 30’s when knee and ankle problems made is less reward and more risk than they were worth. I was very thin in HS in the 140’s. Steady at the 160’s through my 20’s. Once I hit 30 it was like I skipped the 170’s altogether into the high 180’s. I’m thin but I’ve got a bit of a belly and I honestly don’t know how. I’ve also got tree trunk quads/hams from the cycling making shopping for jeans a nightmare. I’m sure I’m not the only one.

I had been feeling less and less energetic since turning 34/35 or so but chalked it up to ‘getting old’. Finally, I decided to go see a doctor when I began having symptoms of ED. This gentleman came very highly recommended and is easily the best doctor I have ever been to. I am very fortunate to have found him. I digress.