T Nation

Troubles in China-Get Me on Track

Short bio so you know where I'm at:

I was involved in wrestling through high school and two years of college, at which point I left to focus on my grades. Since then it has been a bit of a roller coaster. There are times when I was very good at staying on track with a program and times when I wasn't.

I am plagued with perfectionism--if I do not have my diet perfect and clean, my routine structured with the exact amount of sets, reps, weight, and rest periods, I end up convincing myself that it is not even worth it to go.

Consciously I know that if I just lift hard and stick fairly well to a good program I will do well, but it is still a major hurtle. I became a registered CSCS through the NSCA last year (minored in Sports Medicine in college), but it has kind of been a mixed bag. I have a lot of technical knowledge, but it also fuels my perfectionism.

Now for recent events. I peaked with my weight at about 165 lbs (I am 5'9", bodyfat around 8-9%). I have always been pretty lean and had trouble putting on weight. Recently however, I herniated a disc (L4/L5 I think it was), and it put me out of commission for quite some time. In fact, I didn't even realize it was herniated and just dealt with the pain for about 4 months, until I finally got an MRI. Now I'm trying to rehab it doing Yoga--yeah it's girly, but it helps my flexibility (which is awful) and improves my core stabilizers.

So here is why I joined the boards: I've been reading some of the stuff, and this place certainly fits the bill for intelligent training. What I'm hoping for is advice and support regarding my motivation and some practical knowledge. I am well-acquainted with the theory, but I've never been involved much in the way of hands-on work.