Trouble with Sleep

Christian,

My sleep has been a struggle for quite some time. I’m 53, and I’ve been lifting since I was a teenager. I stay lean enough to see my abs year-round and following a roughly 35% protein, 35% carb, and 30% fat diet.

I’m in bed roughly 7.5 hours per night; however, according to my sleep tracker, I average only 6.5 hours. 2-3 trips to the bathroom are the norm, and the last hour or so of the night is spent tossing and turning. I literally have to force myself to stay in bed.

Any thoughts you might have will be greatly appreciated. FYI, I did a sleep test last year, and I do not have Apnea.

Thank you!

Kelly

6,5 hours its not that bad. Are you a desk worker or you have a physique job ?

Thank you for the feedback. Actually, I’m a fitness professional averaging 50 hours a week on the floor with my clients. This equates to 4-5 miles a day of walking in addition to my personal workouts.

and how do you feel ? always tired or not ?

After a good night’s sleep, great. After a poor night, not so much. The challenge is that the good nights occur very infrequently and so I’m generally pretty tired.

are you using a magnesium formula ?

Just throwing this out there try Z-12. Just buy a bottle use it two or three times a week. Stuff works well for me. Also I’ve had a good run with ZMA and glycine nightly. Both are extremely cheap too. Z-12 is a little pricey but just use it as needed not all the time.

1 Like

Thank you all for your suggestions and help. For what it’s worth, I do take a quality magnesium supplement in the evening.

1 Like

What’s your caffeine intake like, as in what times of the day do you have and how much?

Matthew Walker author of Why We Sleep: The New Science of Sleep and Dreams says that a single dose of caffeine disturbs sleep for 30 hours.

So even having one lot of caffeine at 6am disturbs your sleep. Really we shouldn’t have any caffeine, but if you do, a single dose first thing is the best option.