Trouble with dead lift and squast (lower back)

I don’t know what it is, but ever sinced I started doing dead lift and squat (it’s been about a year since high school), my lower back kinda hurts while I’m doing it. It’s not a sharp pain, just feels like the muscles are tired. That’s my point. I can’t seem to keep my lower back out of the exercise, no matter how hard I try. I swear I have my lumbar curve in tact throughout an entire rep and the rest of my back straight, and my head all the way back. It seems as though I’m building muscle in my lower to mid back with dead lift and none accross my shoulders(back).

What do you do in the way of exercise for your lower back or abs even?

If nothing, you need to consider good mornings, hyperextensions (regular and reverse) and ab work.

It sounds like you need to work on strengthening your lower back. This is not uncommon. Your legs can do more than your back can. I would suggest glute ham raises and workouts on the roman chair. However, I would encourage you to go slowly. Muscle soreness in in all other areas is just a pain. Muscle soreness in the lower back can keep you from working out. Also, I wouldn’t go any heavier on squats and dead lifts until the lower back is strengthened. Maybe even go lighter. In the meantime do leg presses to keep developing your legs, if you are concerned about losing strength. Best of luck

Deadlift:

You won’t be able to keep your lower back out of the exercise. In fact the deadlift is one of the better exercises for your lower back, particularely for training isometric strength. As long as your form is good you’re fine. The deadlift is a good way to identify a weak link in the posterior chain and also a good way to work toward balancing the lot. As long as your form remains good throughout.

Squat: