Trouble Upping Frequency of Workouts

I’m 32 years old and I have been training regularly for about 8 years. My goal has always just been about getting as strong as I possibly can, I work out 5 days a week, 3 days dedicated to resistance training and 2 days dedicated to cardio. The cardio is essential in my case because my family has a long history of heart disease. I don’t smoke and I eat a healthy diet but I feel some cardiovascular training is necessary for additional cardiac protection.

I have tried adding additional work out days in the past but I feel it just doesn’t feel like I get sufficient rest and all my workouts suffer as a result of it.

Despite this, I still feel like I have gotten good results from my current training program. However, I hear so much about how the real hardcore lifters lift about 5-6 days a week so I feel that if I really want to make inroads I’ll have to increase my frequency.

Perhaps it is an issue with my programming?

I’ll post it in case anyone has any comments or suggestions.

Sunday:Cardio (5K run in the park with hills)

Monday:Bench Press (5x6 85%1rm) , weighted Pull ups(5x7), Overhead Press(5x5 85-90%1RM), Renegade Rows(3x8), weighted dips(4x8) Bicep Curls, Tricep Extension(3x10 each)

Tuesday:Rest

Wednesday:Back Squat(6x5 87% 1RM), weighted pull ups(5x7), Palloff Presses(3x10), Trap Bar Deadlifts(5x5 85% 1RM), weighted glute/ham raise(4x8), Barbell Lunges(3x8)

Thursday Cardio (5 K run in the park with hills)

Friday: Rest

Saturday:Clean&Jerks(8x1), Snatch(8x2) Front Squats(6x3 93%1RM), Deadlifts6x5(87% 1RM), Bench Press(8x3 93% 1RM), weighted dips, Bent over barbell rows(4x8).