T Nation

Trouble Recovering from Chest Workouts

I've been lifting for about 2 years now, and ever since i have, when i work out my chest i get a lot of pain for days after. with most muscle groups i am used to aching for possibly the next day (although that isnt often anymore).

I stopped doing chest work about 3 weeks ago, thinking i should just give my chest a little time to recover. I did my first chest day on wednesday and i am still in quite serious pain now, and simply moving my upper body is hard work. i didnt even go really heavy trying to ease my chest back into it.

I did incline bench 5x12 starting with 2 really light sets of around 88lbs working upto 110lbs (which is less than half my personal best.)

Incline flies 5x12 at 22lbs

finishing with 3x12 pushups.

then stretching

obviously not massively taxing or hard to achieve, i really thought i would have no issues with recovery, but it is now sunday and i am worried i am doing something very wrong.

I guess what i am asking is, is this normal or could there be an issue that needs addressing? any help would be great.

Yeah. You are doing 13 sets of chest exercises. Are you balancing that out with 13 sets of back exercises at a comparable load? (If yes, I apologize.) Even so, it seems like way too much chest work. What kind of soft tissue work are you doing for your pecs? You need soft tissue work. Are you getting any of that?

Also, did you have any pain during your workout? If not, you probably don't need to worry about a tear. What you probably have going on is some serious delayed onset muscle soreness. You took three weeks off and then did 13 sets of chest! Of course you are hurting!!!

Ok so basically what you are saying is that i am a steriotypical meathead chasing the pump and doing to much?! And no pain during the workout so its not a tear. I never do any foam rolling or soft tissue work maybe i need to look into it. I'll try reducing the sets on chest and see if that makes a difference.