T Nation

Triple Progression and RPE 8 Combined?

Hey Coach,

you explained and mentioned the triple progression model a few times in your latest articles. I have been using this model for a few years give or take. As I understand it, you recommend it for the main lifts which are the exercises I use it for.

Now, I’m often being told that I should not go so close to failure (I don’t fail but 0 Reps in the tank) on the big lifts which is what you recommend often as well. But I don’t see how these two would fit together.

How can I use triple progression WITHOUT going near failure on the bench/squat/press? If I leave one or two reps in the tank I would have gotten 6 | 6 | 6 instead of 6 | 5 | 4. So how would I progress like that? I can’t objectively judge if I have the same number of reps in the tank every time when I’m under the bar.

I’ve been struggling to combine these two concepts for a few years now and it takes a toll on my recovery. I often have severe workout hangovers after squat days (which I guess is normal to a degree).

I’m a 2A actor according to your test if that changes anything.

Thank for your time in advance.

1 Like

The only way I can think of combining these two concepts is that on the main lifts, instead of hitting muscle failure, focus on hitting technical failure. Meaning, progress on technically solid reps only. If you lose groove, lose tightness, eg flare your elbows too soon on the bench, hips shoot up on Squats or deadlifts, you went too far.

This way you will not be going to muscle failure every time because you won’t be trying to muscle up weights with semi good form at the end of your sets, but you will still abide by the principles of the a Triple Progression System and hit technical failure, so it’s still quantifiable and you still have a way to measure progress.

Maybe not the perfect way, but this came to mind at first thought

1 Like