Triceps Assistance for Bench

Hello everyone,

I would like to know what kind of triceps assistance should I do to improve my benching ?

Actually, I try to have one pushdown variation (band or cable extension for example) and one ‘compound lockout’ variation (top-half bench, close-grip bench, half-dips…).
What do you think ? Are these good variations ?
Should I rotate between variation every workouts or keep with the same months after months ?

And what about an overhead extension variation ?

Thank you.
Mat’

Your question can’t adequately be answered until you give very specific details about your current training program. Share your plan for the last 3 months, including prograss, frequency, etc.

Hi !

I’ve been training with 5/3/1 for the last 3 months.

I use the 2x2x2 template, it is very similar to the 5/3/1 for busy men (Effective Training for Busy Men) :

Day 1
Squat 5/3/1
Squat variation
post chain variation (SLDL, leg curls, GHR…)

Day 2
Bench 5/3/1
Press variation
Lats
triceps pushdown + lockout

Day 3
DL 5/3/1
Squat variation
post chain variation (SLDL, leg curls, GHR…)

Day 4
Press 5/3/1
Bench variation
Lats
triceps pushdown + lockout

I train 2-4 times/week depending of job or family life, rotating workout 1 to 4 no matter the frequency.
I rotate between 5x10 and 5’s for compound movements variations.
I do 3 sets of 6-12 reps or a total of 50 reps for triceps and sometimes for biceps, calves, etc…for fun.

Mat’

Are you wanting a stronger lockout or bigger triceps?

[quote]Reed wrote:
Are you wanting a stronger lockout or bigger triceps? [/quote]

both :wink:

Seriously, my weak point is at lockout, especially on my right arm (!).

Mat’