T Nation

Tricep Exercise for Target Area?

Anyone has tried an excercise wich targets the marked area on tricep?? I am already doing dips with elbows wide open.

I am not an anatomical expert, but the marked area is really just the triceps tendon that connects the muscle to the bone. Its like trying to train your calf around your ankle … just a long, thick band of connective tissue. Hopefully someone else can give you a better answer but in my experience (as a swimmer, triceps are heavily recruited), I have never seen anyone with large muscles in that area compared to the actual triceps muscle itself.

[quote]njrusmc wrote:
I am not an anatomical expert, but the marked area is really just the triceps tendon that connects the muscle to the bone. Its like trying to train your calf around your ankle … just a long, thick band of connective tissue. Hopefully someone else can give you a better answer but in my experience (as a swimmer, triceps are heavily recruited), I have never seen anyone with large muscles in that area compared to the actual triceps muscle itself. [/quote]

Ok, so, no surprise that area does not grow.

Thanks.

Have any hints to work the inside tricep?

Try Tricep Pullovers.

The inner head best activates when the arm is stretched. IMO best thing lying extensions where instead of your arms and elbows pointing at the ceiling they are angled back 45º. Keep them at this angle the whole exercise and the inner head will never rest

[quote]2274 wrote:
Try Tricep Pullovers.[/quote]

supinated/pronated…cable/bar/db… stance, elbow position?, tempo?

[quote]saps wrote:
The inner head best activates when the arm is stretched. IMO best thing lying extensions where instead of your arms and elbows pointing at the ceiling they are angled back 45º. Keep them at this angle the whole exercise and the inner head will never rest[/quote]

Just tried, it feels working. Is any diference on opening the hands or keeping it at head side?

Dips would work.