Transitioning out of IT?

Do any of you have an IT related degree, had a job in IT and decided you wanted to get into another career instead?

Just wanted to hear some experiences and how you went about it, if any. Thanks!

When you say IT, what do you mean?

Helpdesk? Network design, installation, maintenance? Large application support? App development?

What other career are you looking into.

I mean being in any of those fields, but transitioning out of IT as a whole. Like going from IT to Marketing, Finance, HR, etc.

I’m currently a System Administrator in a Windows based environment, but I’m starting to think I made the wrong career choice.

I decided these are the key qualities I want in a career:

1. Wake up without an alarm clock.
  2. Be on my feet more and not sit at a desk all day.
  3. Interact with external people and not just internal clients.
  4. Helping people/clients achieve their goals
  5. A great work life balance.
  6. Do something that can benefit people/society
  7. Be able to work from anywhere.
  8. A career field that I don’t have to worry about job security, always a need.
  9. 90K+ Yearly Salary

So I’ve thought of things like personal training, professor, architect, and also maybe staying in IT (since I have all this knowledge) and doing some consulting of some sort instead. I’ve only been in the career field for 5 years (started as an intern to helpdesk to sys admin). I’m only 29, so I’m thinking if I’m going to make a change, now is the time to do it.

[quote]isdatnutty wrote:

9. 90K+ Yearly Salary
    [/quote]

Good fucking luck…

[quote]usmccds423 wrote:

[quote]isdatnutty wrote:

9. 90K+ Yearly Salary
    [/quote]

Good fucking luck…[/quote]

Hahaha, I think the first thing I need to do is find that thing I love. Everything else will take care of itself.

Or maybe just be a clinical psychiatrist haha.

[quote]usmccds423 wrote:

[quote]isdatnutty wrote:

9. 90K+ Yearly Salary
    [/quote]

Maybe lottery winner?