T Nation

Transitioning from Starting Strength to CUT

I've been doing starting strength for just over 4 months and I think I am finally coming to the end of the road as far as my gains this time around. I ended up adding ~525lb to my lifts and added 27lb of weight (~19 muscle based on body fat change). I have been a hard gainer in the past on other programs so I can't complain about the results.

Based on the past I will be stalling here shortly as I just broke through my previous stall. I was thinking of continuing for a little while but dropping bench and squats which I have stalled on twice before and adding in curls, pullups and maybe some ab exercises. The reason for this is that I don't think over the holiday's when I have family in town and we are eating lots of food is a good time to start a CUT routine and diet. Is this a good plan or should I do something else during this time of transition?

I think my next program is going to be Waterbury Summer Project, sounds like a good routine.

Congrats on the good progress!

Second off, I assume you have tried everything? Such as the de-load and when your lifts start to stall from workout-workout adding another 2 sets on to the workset? Also there is of course what a lot of people seem to not do, which isn't a bad thing when you're following a programme to the T. But since you feel you've progressed nicely now anyway it wouldn't hurt to do your last set to failure.

If you've done all this then good luck, I've not checked out Waterburys summer project I know a lot of people around here don't agree with his methods though.

I'd say my personal choice would be to carry on with SS through the holiday the extra calories may even give you a few unexpected gains...

Good luck, let me know how it goes!