T Nation

Transition Time Between Diets/Cycles?

I’ve got several years, diets, and cycles under my belt so I’m not a newbie when it comes to this, however, Im thinking of trying something different and would like some input from those who have done this…

I’m a bit ahead of schedule this year when it goes to my cutting time, I have about 2 months left before I need to start my diet. I’ve been off for about 3 months, but this year I was hoping to get just a bit bigger than I am currently.

Would it mess up my dieting process in any way if I did a short cycle for 6-8 weeks for some extra weight gain then immediately turn around and start the dieting process with a completely new cycle, diet, etc? I’ve always done the “time on = time off” routine so this would be my first time ever going from one cycle straight into another. Gear is also not an issue, I have plenty on hand.

My current stats: 6’3, 255-260lbs (fluctuate), and around 10-12% bf.

This year my goal was to hit 275lbs and then start dieting down, but due to an illness that did not happen.

Thanks for any input guys. It’s much appreciated.

Nobody? Surely someone has some insight on this topic???

Well, in terms of holding onto the lean mass gained in those 6-8 weeks, many people advocate a waiting period to solidify the gains so that your body gets used to the weight and doesn’t drop it when you go into cutting mode. It would also depend on how severe your cut is. Can’t help much with the two cycles in a row thing, though.

How long has your longest cycle been? From personal/recent experience I can tell you I had a lot tougher time recovering from a longer cycle like the one I think you are suggesting. Like yourself I was always a time on=time off guy, actually to be one hundred percent accurate I was always 8 weeks on then 6 months off.