Transferring Colleges

So, I’ve been attending SDSU for a couple months now. I’ve had a lot of fun and joined a fraternity. But I found out there’s pretty much zero hope of becoming an in state resident of California. They basically make it impossible. So I have 2 options. Stay here and rack up some debt. 20-30k+ by the time I graduate. Or I can transfer to UNLV back home in Nevada. There I’d be paying about 1/8th of what I pay at SDSU. I’d have no debt, I’d have my job back.

My parents live about an hour from UNLV, I wouldn’t visit home very much. But it would probably ease the stress mentally just being around family. I was stressed out when I first got here because I knew no one and had to adjust, but it’s a lot better now. So my question is, is it worth it to rack up the debt and stay here or can I have a good college experience at UNLV. UNLV is not considered that great of a school for the college experience because it has a high percentage of commuters. What are your opinions? I know there’s a lot of guys on this forum with a lot of wisdom and this has been stressing me out.

I would go back and save that money. College is college is college with few exceptions.

The only thing I would really consider is the program/future job I want. If SDSU gives you a significantly higher future earnings outlook I’d stay there.

Then transfer. If it’s your most favorable option, then go for it.

What is out of state tuition at SDSU?

They must have changed the residency rules. I gained residency while attending Chico State in just one year.

What are the residency rules?

(seems like something to investigate before enrolling, but I guess that’s water under the bridge.)

I just looked at the residency rules. You probably need to take a year off, get a job, get a bank account, register to vote, get a CA DL, register a car, file a tax return, and pledge your allegiance to CA. That’s far from “impossible.”