T Nation

Training Women

CT:

I work as a trainer (writing programs only) at a decent sized gym.

My problem is that most of the people who book in for a program are women who don’t give a f**k about getting strong, and just want to ‘lose some fat’, ‘tone up’ and/or don’t want to turn into ‘the hulk’ overnight.

The programs I’ve given to women who have followed my advice (tiny minority) have helped them with their goals, but as for most of them, they do my stuff once or twice then switch to aerobics classes and stay the same or get worse.

My question is: Do you have specific exercises that these types of women like to do, or is it just a case of giving them exercises that will work and explaining WHY they will work in a manner that helps them adhere to the program?

I only have an hour to spend with each client (once off), and (just to make matters more fun!) about 95% of them have never been in a gym before in their life.

Any help would be appreciated.

CT might be more elaborated now, but here’s a cool article he wrote on training women (if you haven’t already read this yet):

I always think women are surprised to find out that they have 10 times less Testosterone than guys do (as Thibs mentioned in the above article). So I mention that to any female I train or give advice to now.

[quote]Eric Buratty wrote:
CT might be more elaborated now, but here’s a cool article he wrote on training women (if you haven’t already read this yet):

I always think women are surprised to find out that they have 10 times less Testosterone than guys do (as Thibs mentioned in the above article). So I mention that to any female I train or give advice to now.

[/quote]

I have actually read that article before, but reading it again was useful. I already use some of those guidelines in the table in the article, although I tend towards slightly more exercises per session and stick to around three sets in most of my programs.