Training Without Even A Basic Diet

Hi Christian,

My question is this should I train without a basic diet?

Money is really tight right now… Worse than I can ever remember and some days, I eat maybe once and other days 3 or 4 times.

It’s causing absolute havoc on my metabolism and I’ve seen my waist size increase by 4 inches in 3months. This is contributed to by the fact I refuse to train unless I know I have a good weeks worth of food to fuel my training and muscle growth.

As a personal trainer I would imagine you have seen people from different walks of life… I can imagine, many athletes don’t all have the most privileged backgrounds.
But I very much doubt it stops them from training.

I’m really confused as to whether I should or shouldn’t train on such restricted calories. Especially since my goal is to actually gain size. I wouldn’t even know what frequency to go with.

Can you please help me?

Thanks.

Makes sense… I’m just highly surprised that I can be in a calorie surplus when I’m eating say around 1500 calories on an average day.

I personally assumed it was because of the low quality food I am eating. Pretty much all simple carbohydrates.

I have also heard more than once that eating very little, then eating a lot confuses the body and drives it to store fat.

I will of course continue to train. I was hoping for some input from Christian about frequency or what sort of training I should do…

Your simple answer of course shows it is a stupid question.

So I will just continue doing compound movements until a time comes that I can include isolation type exercises.

Thanks for the input BB.

I am also not CT but I was at this point financially not too long ago. The worst part - aside from living in a car - was that I had only recently before that figured out how to eat a little more conducive to gaining muscle and strength.