T Nation

Training Without a Gym, Just a Keg

Hello. I'm a longtime fan of T-Nation although this is my first post. Usually when I have a question I just search for it but this time I'd like some feedback.

I'm a college student at WVU and I've decided to plan my training for the winter break. Although this doesn't start until the middle of December I don't see any harm in planning ahead. WVU has a really nice gym that I use while I'm here but over the break I'll be at my parent's house without much in the way of equipment. In past years I've slacked during this break but considering that I'll be mostly free of the distractions of school such as partying and chasing girls and studying too late to get enough sleep this time I'll make good use of this opportunity.

It looks like I only get about 3 and a half weeks for this break which pisses me off because I think it was a week longer in the past. Anyway although I won't be using Dan John's One Lift a Day program I'll go ahead and adopt his 3 weeks of intense workouts followed by a week of rest.

My goals for these 3 weeks are to increase my back and leg strength and speed and to build some muscle while minimizing fat gain. Nutritionally I'm going to go for a clean bulk. I recently bought John Berardi's Gourmet Nutrition e-book so I think that by following his advice I'll do well, and I know about pre/post workout nutrition and that stuff already.

As far as training I want to stick to intense bodyweight exercises and I'm going to get a keg and try some of the training ideas I've seen on this site. Here's the exercises I want to use:

-Sprinting Workouts
-Pullup Variations (I plan to use every variation I can think of here)
-One-Arm Pushup Work & Weighted Pushups (Somebody on your back)
-Handstand Pushups

Keg Exercises:
-Lots of Carrying Variations
-Overhead Squat
-Bent Over Row
-Stiff Leg Deadlift
-A couple new things each time.