Training with Younger Brother

At what age do you guys think you can start to squat/deadlift “heavy”? Does age make a difference? Should you stick with higher rep ranges and lower weights? My 15yo little bro is starting to train with me and I was looking for opinions as to what to do/what to avoid doing training-wise with him…

He is a 6’2 200lbs football player and to complicate things he had a torn lateral ligament in his knee this summer, now healed

Thanks!

[quote]Raging Frenchman wrote:
At what age do you guys think you can start to squat/deadlift “heavy”? Does age make a difference? Should you stick with higher rep ranges and lower weights? My 15yo little bro is starting to train with me and I was looking for opinions as to what to do/what to avoid doing training-wise with him…

He is a 6’2 200lbs football player and to complicate things he had a torn lateral ligament in his knee this summer, now healed

Thanks![/quote]

Though I’m no professional, I don’t think anyone can tell him when he’ll be ready, it’s up to what his body tells him. If he feels discomfort, he should stretch and foam roll and what not, then try it again next leg day.

I don’t think you can go truly ‘heavy’ until you’ve trained for quite a while. By heavy, I mean a weight that is truly maximal for your size. The reason is because your CNS isn’t coordinated to use max weights right when you start lifting.

Stick to low reps, but don’t do any grinders (very slow reps) or shitty form reps, should be fine. Plus, he seems like he’ll be able to handle some pounding at 6’2 200 lbs.

I started the “Bigger Stronger Faster” program when I was 14 which focuses on Squats, Bench, Clean and DL. I had no problems. I only weighed 135 at the time and was pulling 2x BW… If he is a 200 lb football player he should be fine. Just start him slow and light and run a progression such as starting strength or something like that.

Of course he should ask his doctor if his knee is stable enough to lift weights.