Training With A Torn Labrum

Hey all,

I dislocated my shoulder on a blown snatch on March 15th. This was devastating to me considering I’ve been making the best gains of my life for the last six months on a modified version of CT’s HSS-100. I’m using the basic template and have customized the movements over time.

I’m 26 and otherwise healthy. Never been injured in 13 years of competitive athletics. Diet is dialed in, I’m stronger, bigger, and leaner than I’ve ever been. The first doc I saw thinks it’s a torn labrum and has sent me for a contrast MRI, but I want a second opinion.

So far I’ve been jumping rope, doing farmer’s walks, split lunges with weight held at my side, and some chins, but the chins hurt a bit and don’t feel all that good on the shoulder. I squatted tonight but even with a low bar position it didn’t feel good since the tear is a posterior one.

What else do you guys think I can do in the meantime while I’m waiting for further workups?

Thanks so much in advance for your help. Any support and advice from the Nation would be much appreciated during this trying time…

WTF? I dislocated my shoulder March 18 and I’ve been wearing a sling the whole time. I can’t even see my ortho surgeon until fucking Thursday the busy asshole. Your surgeon is letting you continue to train!?!?!

So he wants to do surgery so he doesn’t care if you continue to work out until surgery?

I know mine was an anterior dislocation. The humerus was abducted and externally rotated when I dislocated it. I heard a big ass crunch and I figured I should just wear a sling until I see him as I’ve done all this to my left and was advised to wear a sling for about 4 weeks until it heals then start on light rotator cuff exercises.

Of course, I REALLY hope this isn’t the case as I’ve made the best gains of my life in the past 1.5 yrs. (I’m 24) and have gained about 30 pds. If I lose it all, AGAIN, that would really suck.