Training Upper Body with Negative Dips and Chins Only

Dr Darden,

I have been training regularly for over 30 years and have used many different types of training methods. Wendler’s 5 3 1, high volume high frequency, HIT, Heavy Duty and many of Christian Thibaudeau’s programs.
While building and maintaining a fairly muscular and athletic body with all of these various workouts I have never seen much of a difference in my physical appearance.
Over the last 4 weeks I decided to train my upper body with negative only chins and dips. I had never tried negative only exercise before.
I have been staggered with the results. At the age of 46 I have had better results in 4 weeks than I have ever had previously of 30 years.
Can you provide any explanations as to why this is possible?

4 Likes

Interesting experience. I am curious as to how the negative-only training was carried out. Was it normal loads with slow cadence (Darden’s 30 second or 60 second negatives). Or was it an overloaded eccentric: get into position with extra weight, and then just fight the negative for as long as you can?

Like you I have gone through many different routines through out the years and a while back I gave negative only dips and chins a try. Unlike you I found it made very little difference in results.
Scott

I am performing sternum chins negative only lowering initially for 8 seconds and terminating when I can no longer lower for 4 seconds.
I keep my elbows bent at roughly 90° through out and feel it very well in my lats. 2 sets of roughly between 6-8 reps.
I do wide grip dips allowing the elbows to flare out some to activate the pectorals.
I then do close grip palms facing chins, placing emphasis more on the biceps.
I then finish off with narrow grip dips with elbows pointing straight back to target the triceps.
All performed for the same sets and reps as the sternum chins.

2 Likes

Great to hear @Dylan2 !