Training to Failure?

Wassup. I’m a relatively small guy (about 5’7
" and 150 lbs), I started training about a year ago and I’d say I have a bit of a hard time putting on mass. I think my diet is pretty good, I eat about 180 g protein in 2000 cals per day…so I’m wondering about training. I usually train with very high tension and aim for failure (and beyond) in every set. Lately I’ve heard it suggested that hard-gainers should avoid failure due to the catabolism this induces. Would I notice more rapid hypertrophy if I started easing back away from extreme intensity and quiting each set a rep ar two before failure? Any thoughts of oppinions?

Terminate your sets a rep before failure. In other words, never attempt a rep that you won’t complete in less than perfect form. Attempting to lift a resistance and then having to set the weight back down without completing the rep does nothing for your training, but it sure does tax the CNS.

I also recommend that you read the Massive Eating articles by John Berardi here at T-mag. Your protein intake is sufficient, but your overall caloric intake is not...you need more than just protein to add mass.

-JM

There is a time in each properly planned periodization cycle for training to failure. Training to failure all the time is certainly not optimal. Read “The Ian King Cheat Series” on this site to get more info on this. On a side note, I think that you would “notice more rapid hypertrophy” if you started eating more than 2000 calories per day. Do the Massive Eating calorie calculations and you’ll realize how many more calories you need to take in to grow.