T Nation

Training to failure

I am seeking information concerning the pros and cons of training to failure–at least training to failure constantly. A good friend of mine, who happens to be a physical therapist
shared with me that he believes that varying intensity between complete failure and 75-90% of failure for a given rep range–NOT OF A 1-REP MAX–is a key to avoiding overtraining. Does anyone have any information validating this claim?

I’m no expert, but training to 1 rep max failure can be harmful. It has almost been a year since I tore my right pec almost completely off the upper-arm insertion point–all because of training to failure. Don’t be stupid when you are doing it. Your symmetry is permanently destroyed when you do a major tear!

It sort of depends on whether your main goal is to avoid overtraining or if it is to have maximum progress. I have had great success in terms of strength gains by doing sub-maximal sets with heavy weights (performing 4 or 5 reps when perhaps 6 or 7 would have been failure). I think this would correspond to your friend’s 75-90% range. However, I haven’t really had good size gains from submaximal training, and have always relied on either training to failure and/or having a high training density (ie. many sets/time). Perhaps a combination of submax training and short rest intervals would create size gains, but there would still be a risk of overtraining. So if you’ll allow me to sit on the fence, I’d say that as a component of a “periodized” type of training plan, submax training definitely has its place, especially after periods of intense training to failure. Plus, I think that basic submax training is beneficial to strength/power training, and can be used for size training if used with a high training density (eg. GVT). Sorry for the long post…just thought I’d add .02