Training to be a Police Officer

After I graduate college in about 2 years, I’m planning on becoming a police officer. I’ve started to manipulate my training regimen so that it would be more in tune with what I will be doing for a career. I used to train solely for hypertrophy and aesthetic reasons but now I’m focusing on strength and conditioning. For example, I have just started to do GPP and jump roping. I have also started a flexibilty routine. I recently started training grip strength using crushing power, pinching, and finger extensor exercises. Once I have shed some fat and bodyweight I plan on focusing on strength. I could use some advice and or ideas about what I would need to do and how to train in order to be in top condition in 2 years when I apply. Of course, I realize not every cop is in good shape, but I plan to excel in law enforcement and eventually apply for a more physically demanding position, such as SWAT. Thanks for any help that is provided.

Scott, check out Coach Davies site or contact him, and check out dragondoor

Check on the departments actual physical requirements for testing, then gear your training towards those. There’s much more to being a cop than being physically imposing, such as observation skills, driving ability, shooting accuracy and target selection under stress, etc… You might do a ride-along with some one on the force to get a feel for the job.