T Nation

Training Suggestions?

I started training on 14th September with a full body routine followed it untill December and switched to a push pull legs routine.I couldnt train in March and trained in April and May with a high volume full body routine.My gym shut down in June so I couldnt train bought a power rack at the middle of july and continued with my current routine untill now.

My problem is I gained only 2 kg in this 1.5 months. My diet is in check i eat about 2600 kcal each day...Im 5'6" and 54 kg.My current routine looks like this

Workout A
Squat
Bench Press
Deadlift
Bent Over Row

Workout B
Front Squat
Overhead Press
Romanian Deadlift
Pull Up

Alternate Workout A and B on
alternate days
Any suggestions on what seems to need fixing?

It’s hard to tell as I cannot see what your sets or rep schemes look like, what I can tell you right away is that you don’t need to be squatting and benching in one workout, and then front squatting and OP’s the next workout. Also, please rejoice in the days of gaining 2kg in a month and a half because believe it or not, that is pretty good, and someday it’s going to take a lot longer than a month and a half. (granted it was an increase in weight in muscle mass and not fat) If you want to make steady progress do this:

1. find a sustainable program. Buy Jim Wendler’s 5/3/1 program ebook, the 5/3/1 program covers everything you need to know, it will be the best $20 you ever spent. Read the whole thing.

2. Eat more, don’t worry about calories, worry about your macro’s. (Carbs, fats, protein, etc.) Figure out what your body requires, (I can’t tell you because I am from America, and I need a conversion table in front of me)

3. get your sleep and recover. Don’t drink too much alcohol. If you live in india, you have lots of chicken and rice, so go crazy (I was in Hyderabad 3 years ago and it’s a beautiful country)

Good luck! And don’t program jump