Training Priorities: MA vs. BB

Just wondering if anyone has had the dilemma that I have now. I started lifting weights about 4 years ago to get from about 120 lbs to 175 lbs at 5’5". I had the typical “little guy” complex, which is why I started in the first place, and lifting helped me dramatically with my self image and confidence. The way I feel about myself now vs. then is like night and day. Now, lifting is just a part of my life and it’s something I’ll be doing til I’m in the friggin’ nursing home. Anyway, I started training in thai boxing a few months ago, and I love it. I train 5-6 days a week, and try to train outside of class too when I can find a training partner. I’ve lost close to 10lbs from all the additional activity. Haven’t done any body comp measurements, but judging by the mirror and by what people at the gym have been telling me, a lot of it has been fat. However, I think I’d like to compete in a year or two, and I’m guessing that I’d have to drop a lot more weight in order to compete with guys as short as I am. But it kills me that I worked my ass off for the past 4 years to put on size, and now I’ll have to start losing it if I want to fight. I guess I don’t really have a question. Just wanted to express my frustration, and I wanted to see if anyone else has been in a similar situation.

Dude, you need to read the recent Atomic dog article by TC- Physique Schizophrenia- great read. As far as it relates to your problem, you need to make that decision and be comfortable with your body. Choices are: Lose the weight and (POSSIBLY) be a more agile Thai boxer in a lower weight category (and so meet smaller guys); OR maintain around the same weight, still do the weights AND the Thai, maybe not do so good in either, but enjoy yourself all around.

Think of Mike Tyson. Short-ass in the world of giants. Didn’t do too bad did he? Don’t you like the prospect/challenge of meeting and defeating taller guys?

(IMO FWIW!)