Training Percentages Changed with Age/Injuries

I have searched the web for answers to this question and have had no luck.
Just curious on my progress.
I’m a 58 year old lifter (have been lifting most of 39 years).
Never lifted for competition other than competing with myself.
I lifted like a hybrid power lifter/bodybuilder.
Spent some time strength training HS athletes as their coach.
In the past few years I have had some set backs.
First was neck surgery for a 40+ year old injury involving a dirt bike.
This laid me up from lifting for several months.
When I started training again I had progressed to a point where I thought I could get back to some serious lifting.
Then the next hurdle…AFIB with Congestive Heart Failure(apparently from untreated high blood pressure).
Now its 2 years later. I have the heart issues under control(knock on wood) and have made pretty good progress getting back in shape.
In my late 30’s my lifts were 594 squat, 450 bench, 600 deadlift;
now at 58 my lifts are at about 75 - 80 percent of those maxes.
Does this seem like good progress considering my age and past health issues?
I feel like I am doing pretty good for an old man that has had to make a few comebacks.
What are your thoughts?

2 Likes

You sir are stout for 58. Probably stronger than 99% of 58 year olds. (And a lot of 20 year olds).

Sucks though, at the age of 50, I was around 330 lbs but barely as strong as I was 25 and weighing 235. Too many fuck ups I guess.

2 Likes

If you feel good about it, I feel good about it too!

You’re stronger than most dudes you’ll meet in your regular life, you helped the youth and you’re still training after 40 years. All that stuff is good.

I’m sure if you search the internet you’ll find plenty of older guys stronger and more jacked than you, so maybe don’t worry about doing that.

1 Like

Thanks

Thanks.
Never worried too much about other lifters, but was curious if I was proportionately strong now as compared to the good ole days.