Training Less vs Increasing Work Capacity

Recently, after reading a lot of Dan John’s stuff I realized that sticking to the basics and not complicating things was the way to make gains.

So on the one hand I started training with less volume AND less intensity and less often. However I realize that in the long term it would probably be good to bring up my work capacity to allow for more hypertrophy.

Any thoughts?

how does sticking to the basics mean to train less often with less intensity and less volume? are you taking a break or doing pilates?

Over generalization here:

Increasing work capacity over time is the only reasonable way I can see to make continued long term gains

I think there is a general overall fear of overtraining now a days and also believe “the basics” includes a lot of good old fashioned hard work. Also if you can handle/properly recover from more work how is this not going to help your training goals?

[quote]Zulu wrote:
Recently, after reading a lot of Dan John’s stuff I realized that sticking to the basics and not complicating things was the way to make gains.

So on the one hand I started training with less volume AND less intensity and less often. However I realize that in the long term it would probably be good to bring up my work capacity to allow for more hypertrophy.

Any thoughts?[/quote]

Dan John says that it’s best to keep it short and frequent, in the long haul, and that it’s best to be an all-round athlete, and that all training is complementary to a competition.

What Dan basically says, is that you don’t need “a lot” of anything.
Just do some of it, just enough to make progress, and do it just often enough to make progress.

For example, his throwing athletes have 3 times weekly weight training, on top of their throwing practice, and other drills(sprinting, farmer’s walk, stone carry, etc…GPP if you will)