T Nation

Training In Kenya

Last week, I accepted a summer internship in Kakamega, Kenya. I’ll be doing medical work in Western Kenya for about three months before I head east and south to Tanzania to climb Kilimanjaro… While in Kakamega, I’ll be staying in a very rural area–no electricity, no running water…

Consequently, there’s no gym for about a hundred-fifty miles…haha. I’ve been training consistently for about five years–five or six days a week of running or lifting. I want to continue strength training while I’m in country and was wondering what the best body weight exercises were that you all knew about. I’m open to bands and other gear, but it must be light enough to haul in a pack… Thanks!

I’ve heard Cape Buffalo drags are very challenging.

haha…I’ll keep that in mind. I’ll do that right after the elephant tusk dips.

Funny timing, I just got back from climbing Kilimanjaro yesterday morning, I’ll put up a thread soon I think. Gyms will be nonexistent unless you’re in a big city, as I think you realize. You will lose muscle, gonna have to resign yourself to that, it sucks. I’d say buy some bands from Elite, chains will be too heavy for luggage, and then go to Ironmind, they sell a book on tough bodyweight exercises that isn’t bad, even though it’s kinda thin. Maybe try Crossfit, don’t know much about them, but sounds tough at least.

i climbed kili at the end of this last summer, and it was pretty sweet. def keep an eye on what you eat and drink, there are some nasty viruses there.

for ways to keep in shape: archives probably have tons of things you can do with bands to keep in shape. also, you can try using single arm or single leg stuff to keep your body weight challenging. this is a good chance to get back to the basics, pull-ups, dips, push-ups, that kinda thing.

good luck

If you can read french you can buy Olivier Lafay’s book.