T Nation

Training Girlfreind

My girlfreing wants me to help her work out and I thought it would be more fun than it is. I was just wondering if any of you guys ever trained a Gf or wife and was it fun for u? Howd you make it Fun? I just feels like it throws my workout off

Early on until she becomes comfortable with doing things on her own you'll have to go with her when you're not trying to train yourself. That just becomes too frustrating for both parties.

I know it's cool to have her depend on you an all, but the goal is to get her self-reliant in the training room as quickly as she's comfortable and confident with it.

I make my living as a performance coach and pt, and I CANNOT train my own wife. It has not worked well for us. I cannot say it will not work for others; but we learned early on it was not a good idea. We have a great marriage, but it does not work for us. After our first baby I trained her for a few weeks to get her set up on a program, and then would just write out her stuff and explain it to her, and send her on her way. Works better for us. Just my two cents... Good luck!

This is what I did. I trained my wife when I wasn't training. Within a couple weeks (she had previous experience) she trained mostly on her own, and we just consulted on programming.

Training with my GF has worked fantastic! We are both competent at lifting and knowledgeable about what needs to get done. So we go and support each other and more often than not I sq when she BP and vice versa so we don't have to switch weights back and forth. This works well and we now have something important in our life that we share together. Just remember her goals might be a little different than yours so confer with her about it and offer her options and see what she likes.

Damn... I suddenly feel like a marriage counsellor..

Training my husband is no bueno. We have different goals and preferred activities.