Training Frequency and Recovery Issues

I need some help with my programming regarding training frequency and recovery. I’ve been training for 3 years now and gained 50lbs (I was very underweight when I started) - not all of that was muscle tbh. After 3 years I’m starting to know my body quite well in terms of which exercises work, which don’t etc. But there’s always the same pitfall for me, namely recovery.

I always try to apply known scientific principles like keeping a training frequency of at least twice a week for a given muscle group. However, I feel like that’s excessive for me. I have a pretty busy job, I’m on my feet a lot, lots of stress so I thought it was because of my job that I don’t recover fast enough. Now I’ve taken a deload week, can’t go to work bc of the corona virus and I started doing my home workouts (I have some equipment to keep me busy). So I’m fully rested now.

Tuesday was a push workout, Wednesday a pull workout, Thursday legs and yesterday I just went for a walk (about 1 hour). Like I said, I don’t use excessive volume (e.g. push day was 7 sets for chest, 4 lateral delts and 4 triceps) - all in the 8-15 rep range, 1-2 reps from failure. I tried the same workout today (3 days in between) and failed miserably. My strength was 10-20% less than 4 days ago, even though I’ve really stuck to my nutrition these past 2 weeks, sleep is better than ever, I have ZERO stress and I’m not doing anything exhausting. Muscles are not really sore anymore either.