Training for Soccer

Hi,

I have been gathering information from this site for a couple of years. I particularly like the articles that Dan John, TC, and Shugart have writen.

I have been lifting weights since the 7th grade (about 5.5/6 years), started wrestling in 8th, and just last June started an interest in the highland games. My high school wrestling team here in Palmer, Ak (the Colony High School Knights) went from one of the worst teams to one of the best by the time I was a Junior.

When I left that school Colony had won 2 state champions and look much tougher this year than last because they have a lot more freshman who won middle school state. As for my highland games experience, this year was my first year so I completly sucked ass. I took 5th out of 7 and the thing that saved me from taking last was that dispite my lack of experience, I did fairly well at the caber toss.

Well, aside from my love of guns, friends, and family that is pretty much me. My questions are in regards to soccer and the type of conditioning that comes with it. The reason why I ask is because my girl friend plays it and she seemed kinda winded. She only really trains once a day but I plan on changing that.

Now judging by the way that she plays and the fact that these are short, indoor fields that aren’t very large Im going to assume that its mostly anerobic and that she should be doing sprints, burpees, kettle bell swings, ect.

I plan on having me and her doing this on Tuesday:

Tabata sprint/burpees

In other words its 20secs of sprinting and 10secs of burpees.

I also plan on having a training session with her on Thursday. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated!

tl;dr

The first thought that came to my mind was Tabata front squats.

I was in Palmer in late April 06. My buddy lives there. We went camping in the Talkeetna’s. It snowed.

[quote]Loose Tool wrote:

I was in Palmer in late April 06. My buddy lives there. We went camping in the Talkeetna’s. It snowed.[/quote]