T Nation

Training for Military

Hey all,

I am joining the military in about May I believe. It was supposed to be January but the job became full so I have to wait until the next round of picks then I’ll be in. But I kind of see this as a sign however that I should get in a lot better shape. That way I’ll be ready to dominate others at basic training and try to top my coarse.

As of right now I am 5’6 and 146 lbs. No idea what my body fat percentage is and it doesn’t really matter to me at this point. What I want to accomplish in this training phase is just to get a strong as I possibly can and build a good base to start with. Also since I’m joining the military and all cardio will be of some importance. As long as I can run 3Km and get a 10 on the beep test will be fine for me until I get there. If I can do better than that then so be it.

I have some experience in the gym but not that much. Just go when I can here and there. But Now I’m going to be making the time to go and really focus on training. Alough part of my job is doing things that require me to travel… mostly to hotels with a run down treadmill and a broken universal. I will be trying to avoid those trips as much as I can and seek out gyms while I’m there.

Being a beginner and all I will read the almighty beginners articles. And from what I’ve heard starting strength will be the recommended plan of choice. But just not sure if it will be right for what I’m trying to do(Although I haven’t read it yet so it could be perfect for what I want, I just don’t know). I will be willing to update the log weekly or even daily if that is what is requested in order to help me the best all you can.

It is late and I have to get up early, which I know is not a good start to the training. But I will be checking tomorrow to see what all advice has been conjured up.

Thanks In Advance,

Cody

How old are you