T Nation

Training for Fast Twitch Monsters

hi guys,
I’m a fast twitch monster :smiley: and I’m finally growing since I started training with 3 or 4 reps instead of the good old 8-12. Does anyone also train this way and knows some other training methods which effectively hit the fast twitch fibers (to get some change)?

thanks, jaMiii

Think about training for (concentric) speed.

When I am focusing on speed/fast twitch, I like to pause at the end of the eccentric motion for long enough to feel a release in tension. I then give everything I have for an all out explosion of a concentric motion.

[quote]jaMiii wrote:
hi guys,
I’m a fast twitch monster :smiley: and I’m finally growing since I started training with 3 or 4 reps instead of the good old 8-12. Does anyone also train this way and knows some other training methods which effectively hit the fast twitch fibers (to get some change)?

thanks, jaMiii[/quote]

When people think in extremes, they are very seldom right.

Unless you are pushing some serious weight and are already built like a pro lineman, I would rethink staying in a constant 3-4 rep range.

Odds are good that you’re getting results from using a new training style, rather than from the fact that the training style is low-rep.

I thought the same as you when I first tried low-rep training: (1) I had always been “better” at lifting heavy than lifting for reps, (2) I gained a bunch of muscle when I switched to low-rep training, (3) therefore I was “fast-twitch” and would get better results training low-rep year round.

Nope. My body got used to it just like everything else, and my next spike in muscle mass came when I switched back to higher reps.

However, your fast-twitch nature might make doing sets of something like 6-10 reps better (on average) than say 10-12 reps. Or at the very least you might enjoy it more.

couldnt tell ya, my 1RM is usually only 20 pounds or so off from my 6RM

• pointless post