Training for Bodybuilding and Fighting?

I want to continue my bodybuilding routine but also add in some fighting orientated training? Would it be possible to do both if so how should i go about it? I also have no fighting training experience and would like to teach/train myself if at all possible since i cant afford proper training. Been interested in doing some combat training for a while now just havent really botherd.

I have been doing my 5 day split now for nearly 6 months. My squats going strong at 110kg at 5 sets 8-12reps up from 40kg lol. There is a MMA training place in my town but its really expensive and cant afford it with no job and studying :frowning: i would love to go there and learn. Having this strength and not really knowing how to fight/defend myself sucks :(.

1. You’ll only have the time and energy to take one of these seriously. They are both somewhat consuming lifestyles that don’t lend themselves well to the other.

2. Go learn from someone who knows how. “Teaching” yourself is only going to ingrain bad habits in your form that will have to be fixed later. Trust me.

Irish is of course spot on about teaching yourself. It’s just not going to work. You can beat the crap out of a heavy bag on your own I guess, which might make you feel better.

As for mixing the two, while I agree with Irish that they are both full on, I think the answer actually depends on what level you are trying to reach and what you call bodybuilding. Are you trying to be a competitive bodybuilder, or do you just want to bulk up and be muscular? I mean you can lift weights three times a week and go down the boxing gym twice a week, as long as you are getting in enough calories and your lifestyle permits this intensity of training you might be fine.

Not brilliant at either, but fine. Essentially it’s all about calorie intake and the possibility of over training. People over think this stuff way too much, if you’re not trying to be elite then it’s not that complicated.