T Nation

Training for a while, But Never Got Decent Strength Gains

How’s your day going?

Some stats:
5’11
Start BW ( at 17) 125 Pounds
Current BW (at 24) 195 Pounds (probably 18-20% BF, Some upper ab definition, everything else is well defined.)
Current Bench: 225
Current Squat: 275
Current Deadlift: 405
BW pullups: 20-23 (depends on how I feel)
BW Chest dips: 30

I am currently 24, I have been “working-out” since I was 17. I started training using the programs in this book: https://www.amazon.com/Mens-Health-Power-Training-Performance-Based-ebook/dp/B001EHE22A
It worked pretty well and i gained about 10 pounds, don’t remember how much strength but it was a lot more than it was. I was doing a ton of running on top of that because I wanted to join the military.

I went to college instead and in the first semester gained 20 pounds, it was suprisingly clean I still had abs. All I did that semester was this: 3 sets of max BW chest dips, followed by 3 sets of max BW pullups, followed by an ab circuit or some arm pump stuff depending on the day. I did that three times a week, it was short but I pushed myself until my muscles would almost burst, I worked hard on those 6 sets. I gained 20 pounds doing only that and in a massive calorie surplus. That college cafeteria food, amirite? I proceeded to keep that weight (155) until my sophomore year when I went to Europe for a few months.

The first month me and two friends recklessly went to Europe a month early before our study abroad semester with no money and we were homeless for a month backpacking, it was a great time and saw some cool shit, we were hangry but it was cool. The food was crap at the campus in Rome so I lost back down to 140. That summer I had an easy job and I ran a variant of the program I’m going to share in a moment. I gained up to 170 (pretty clean). My strength actually went up a decent amount, bench 235, Squat 300, dead 375.