T Nation

Training for a 10k but Love to Lift

My girlfriend and I recently signed up for a 10km run happening in mid- June; I haven’t run 10km in over a year and don’t want to embarrass myself. As such, I knew I had to put together some sort of structure in order to prepare for the run, but the catch is that I don’t want to change how I’m lifting. I am currently using a Conjugate- style program with a Max Effort Day and a Dynamic Effort Day for both lower and upper body. My Max Effort work is following 5/3/1 structure because I am a collegiate strength coach and I am making my kids do AMRAP sets, and one of my core values is to go through what my athletes go through from a training standpoint. Every other week I rotate my Max Effort work with some sort of Hanging Band Training movement. To summarize one training block, it looks like:

Week 1: 1x5 @ 65%, 1x5@ 75%, 1xAMRAP @85%
Week 2: 3, 2, or 1 rep max with a Hanging Band Training Movement (for more info, see https://www.t-nation.com/training/craziest-training-method)
Week 3: 1x3 @70%, 1x3 @80%, 1xAMRAP @90%
Week 4: Same movement and rep max as week 2, and I try to break my record
Week 5: 1x5@80%, 1x3 @90%, 1xAMRAP@95%
Week 6: Different HBT movement

My running is based off of a 3 day undulation with 1 day for low volume high intensity (which I perform 400m tempo running), 1 day for medium volume and medium intensity (a linear progressive distance increase week to week), and 1 day for higher volume and low intensity (same structure as day 2, but farther distance and lower speed)

I will update daily with my training, and any feedback, thoughts, or anything at all on this thread would be awesome

Nic

Hey man I’m in for the progress.
I’ve been running a lot, but that’s years ago.
Trying to get running a couple of days every week.
But my running tempe is really affected by my lifting. If you want a really good 10 K you might put the lower body lifts at ease.
Good luck

Cool, I’m in.