T Nation

Training Convo With Co-Worker

Alright, I just had a 1/2 hour debate with a co-worker about how muscles are used in training.

First he started off about how people shouldn’t train with weights until they get their ‘core’ strong enough.

I told him my position on it was that the ‘core’ was mostly a catch phrase and you can stengthen those muscles by doing deads, squats and benching. And that you can benefit from weight lifting right away without training the ‘core’ muscles first.

He then pointed me to an article in Men’s Fitness about a trainer who doesn’t have his clients touch weights until they can perform certain body weight exercises.

I read the article, disagreed with some of it and wondered who wrote it. Well, it was written by Alwyn Cosgrove. So, that got me thinking because I think the guy is really smart.

Am I wrong on my position saying that total beginners can benefit from weight lifting right away? Or would they benefit more from body weight exercises first?

The second thing we were discussing was this. He was telling me that you use different muscles when benching slowly than benching fast. I told him that I don’t think you are using different muscles, you are just using them in a different way.

I mean, a bench press is a bench press right? Or do you use different muscles when you bench press slowly as opposed to say speed benching?

if you cant do a stinkin push up you dont have much reason to be benching. Or if you cant do a body weight squat well ya better not try and put a load on your back and do squats.

Sure one should have some minimal strength built prior to hitting the iron but most pplmout there have that save for the ever growing obese poulation. With then I agree with AC hell just get them moving doing body weight stuff big bang for the buck GPP stuff to shed fat.