T Nation

Training BJJ and Muay Thai for a Noob

This is my first post in the combat sports section and I came across a gym in my hometown which is affiliated with American Top Team and offers both BJJ which is made up of different skill levels and a Gi and No-Gi class and a Muay Thai which is broken up into beginner and intermediate the advanced/elite level classes aren't on the schedule I'm assuming there reserved for those wanting to compete. They even offer a fitness conditioning in the mornings.

Anyways my question is do you think it is appropriate for a complete noob to take up both BJJ and Muay Thai simultaneously I always read bios of UFC fighters of first excelling in one art form and than training in the other. This same philosophy I have heard of many getting a black belt in one art than training in another art.

I think I am fairly proficient in the striking art I have done both amateur boxing and Okinawan Karate to be considered having intermediate level proficiency at the very least in striking. And also during my time with USMC done there MCMAP (which incorporates ground fighting and very basic submissions and strikes )

I would also do to time constraints be only able to attend the classes Fri & Saturday ( 2 hours of Bjj and 1 hour Muay Thai) due to work/summer class obligations and I would also be leaving back to college in the fall so this level of training would only be for the rest of the summer and when I get back home on breaks etc... I would also have access to the college campus clubs which practice BJJ and Muay Thai although I have heard the atmosphere at my college mma club is very poser like and is more like a social gathering than a training environment.