Training after Total Hip Replacement Surgery

I’m hoping you have some advice after years of training and working with others.

I’m 61 years old , 3 months out from a left total hip replacement. I’ve trained for many years with a typical type powerlifting approach to my exercise selection. Usually a linear periodization through the year. I train at home, and have a well outfitted set up.

My surgeon has advised against returning to squatting and heavy deadlifts. I’d like to be compliant with the advice. I’m actually also an Orthopaedic Surgeon,so it makes sense to me. Putting a bar on my back for squats or good mornings is probably not the best idea.
Lunges don’t agree with my knees at this point in life.
I’m looking for some advice on designing a leg day.
I have a 45 degree back extension device, a bar for deadlifts of any variety, straight leg , rack pulls etc… and a seated knee extension/ flexion machine. I try and do some walking almost every day and it’s hilly where I live.
I typically train a 4 day split, lifting every other day.
My thoughts were to train with an emphasis on what I can do. Piecing together a variety of isolation type movements seems like my best option at this time.

My goals are to stay healthy and maintain some strength.
Thank you for the time.

clee78,

Sorry to hear of your condition. But I believe you can work around your hip situation, at least for the next 3 months.

I would recommend that you stick to single-joint isolation exercises. The leg extension and leg curl should keep your thighs in reasonable shape. With those, I like the back raise, performed slowly and smoothly on your back extension device. You could also do the standing one-legged calf raise.