Training After Near-Total Colectomy

Hi all,

I hope this might be an appropriate forum. I am posting here instead of under rehab because, frankly, I just feel like I’m more likely to get a response from someone who notices the thread here and I am writing about the general theme of the board. If that is improper, then a mod can feel free to move.

I’ll first admit that I’ve been a reader and poster for many years here. I’ll also admit that I made this new ID just because for reasons I’ll explain I feel like this is a new phase for me that is going to take time to figure out.

By way of background, I had been training up until July 2014 for ten years with weights total (five consistently prior to July), with a stretch of long distance running in undergrad (marathon running). I had decent but not great lifts: could bench 225x27, squat 405 for a set of 10 and could deadlift just under 5 (…grrr). I’m 27 right now.

In June, I suffered a serious medical event that resulted in a near-total colectomy, along with at the time tube feeding and gastric emptying by tube. That lasted many months. It then turned out that I had developed a massive abscess, which required another tube and some months. I have another surgery tomorrow because after they thought the abscess was resolved and removed the tube, six weeks out I’m still leaking significant fluid.

So for the past couple of months I had somewhat resigned myself to becoming a cardio guy again, as I have significant abdominal scarring running the length of my abdomen and was informed that I’m a high risk hernia candidate. Was up to a point doing almost 2 hours of elliptical a day along with light weights.