Training Advice: 12-25 Reps

I’m new to T-Nation and need advise. First off, a little about my self. I’m 56 and currently weigh 242 and 6’2". I’m down from about 300. I guess you would say I was a former FAT boy.

I’ve been lifting for about one year. Five days on and two off. Doing cardio about three times a week(30 min.ea. day) after weight training. I don’t know what my BF is, guessing, about 20%. I have been lifting as heavy as possible. Most of the time 5X5 up to 5X8 on all compound lifts.

My goal in a year. Enter my first contest. Talked to a trainer and he advised a good clean diet (which I’ve lost 10.2 lbs. since the 12th of July) and a new workout routine.

Here’s my question, he has me doing sets of all my lifts with 12 to 25 reps. How can I maintain any size with this type of lifting. I know I’m going to lose size because I have soooo much body fat the get rid of. Hope this make sense. Any advise or information is greatly appreciated.

1st Air Cav

Well, the simple answer is to stop lifting in that rep range. I don’t think it’s the best way to maintain size and strength. You should certainly be doing some heavier lifting. Check out the Next Big 3 by Chad Waterbury. Waterbury’s Triple Total Training can also be used effectively while leaning out. EDT for Body Composition/Fat Loss by Charles Staley is another very effective program. If you choose not to do one of them, it would still help you to structure a program more in line with those parameters.

Wow, that is a LOT of weight loss.

To help you we need some more info.

Tell us what % of 1rm you are using.

Tell us what lifts you are doing.

Ditto what jsbrook wrote. Read Chad Waterbury and Dan John. And John Davies and Charles Staley. Go through the archives and read articles they wrote. Then go to the gym and do it.

Maybe you will lose some muscle mass, however you might be doing your heart a favor by doing so - muscle mass puts extra load on it as well as fat. How’s your blood pressure?