Training a Complete Beginner

Hey guys, I have a question stemming some recent sessions where my buddy has joined me to train.

I’m stronger than he is (which I’m thinking contributes to the issue) and do a moderate amount of volume with my training. Usually I’ll do a main lift (bench, squat,dead,OHP) and then 3-5 assistance exercises for 3-4 sets, pretty basic BB style split. I’m having him do 5x5 on the main lift and one less set on all the assistance work.

I’ve tried explaining to him that he shouldn’t be going to failure on every set, saying he should choose a weight where he can get 5 with a few left in the tank on at least the first 3 sets so he doesn’t burn out and so he can learn proper form.

He doesn’t listen. (I’m assuming it’s a ego/self-conscious thing) So he’s basically choosing his 4RM on the first set and doing 4, then getting a spot for the fifth, then he’ll either keep going or ADD weight and get less and less reps each set. By the last set he gets like 1 rep on his own and needs a spot for the last 4 with shitty form. Then he’ll insist on doing a drop set, going to failure before each drop.

By the time we’re on to the assistance work he’s fried, weak and gets pissed, which only discourages him more

I’m posting this to see what techniques you guys have used to get across to beginners and explain to them that starting out like this is only going to limit them big-time in the long run? How can I show this dude that he can still work hard and feel like he’s worked hard without fucking himself up and teaching his body how to fail and have bad form?

I plan on getting my personal training cert in the near future and working with a lot of newbies, so this is something I’d like to get a handle on now.

Thanks in advance

Ask him why he does that thing and whether it’s working for him or not?