T Nation

Training a Client Who Has Never Lifted

Hi, Im new to personal training and Ive been working out for a few years know and would say I know a fair amount about working out but when it comes to clients, I tend to second guess my decisions on programs and end up spinning my wheels.

I was just wondering how would you design a program for a person who has never lifted and there main goal is to increase muscle mass? I know you advocate basics and using deadlifts, squats, military press and bench press as staples but would you recommend this with beginners as well or go a different route?

[quote]Distortia wrote:
Hi, Im new to personal training and Ive been working out for a few years know and would say I know a fair amount about working out but when it comes to clients, I tend to second guess my decisions on programs and end up spinning my wheels.

I was just wondering how would you design a program for a person who has never lifted and there main goal is to increase muscle mass? I know you advocate basics and using deadlifts, squats, military press and bench press as staples but would you recommend this with beginners as well or go a different route? [/quote]

There are two classes of beginner who want to build muscle:

1. Those who are looking to look good for the beach/club ASAP

2. Those who are in this for the long run and want to make lasting changes in their appearance.

Sadly the former is the most frequent. It’s the guy who only want to do arms, chest and delts and only cares about getting a pump to “look swole”. Honestly I personally refuse to work with these clients. They normally have unrealistic expectations about how much and how fast they can gain, do not really want to put in the hard work required to progress and are likely to quickly quit training or be on and off.