Training 4 Months, Need Advice.

hey everyone-
I’m new to T-Nation, I’ve been on the site for about a month looking for info and advice, it’s been a big help.

I joined a local gym in late April and I’ve seen decent results. I’m 15 [16 in a month], 5’5" and 130 lbs. I’m lean and looking to gain some muscle. I’m a late developer, and I think this may be the reason for my slow muscle gain.

I do 30 minutes of cardio every other day and then I lift. I mainly need advice on weight amounts when it comes to lifting. My doctor says low weight high reps since I still have a lot of growing to do. I do basic exercises like bicep curls, tricep kickbacks, crunches, pushups, and use machines like chest presses, lat pulldown, seated row, etc. I haven’t started bench pressing. My stregnth is increasing substancially, but I’ve hit a plateau.

Is my routine alright and will I see results with solely increasing weight? I go to the gym 4 times a week and I eat very healthy, no soda, no fast food.

Anyone with advice on recommended weight for the machines I use and any new exercises anyone could suggest would be fantastic. I’m just looking to see more progress, and mainly build a better chest/shoulder area and a pronounced 6pack. HELP! (thanks in advance)

This is my advice, get off the machines. Use dumbbells. This is why: when you use dumbbells you will include more muscles (stabilizer muscles) to control exactly where the weight is moving. I believe that you will end up seeing better results in the long run.

If you’re all ready lean and you have a clean diet skip the cardio, you’re only going to hinder your gains, make sure you’re eating enough.

If you’re worried about hurting your growth you could to body weight exercises. Pushups with a hand clap, chin ups, etc, other then that be safe with your weight. Focus on your form; be sure you can do 8 to 10 good clean reps before moving up.

Check out www.beastskills.com, it’s a sight geared to body weight work.

Hope that helps,
SMACK