Trainer Isn't Helping w/ Bulk

Hi i’ve been training hard for about 12 months and i need some advice.

I have an online trainer who is great, but as time is going on i’m starting to wonder if she has the experience and knowledge to help get me to my goals, we made great progress to start with but to be fair my diet was awful and my training plan was none existant before so anything she suggested was going to be an improvement.

I’ve done a number of short bulks and a number of short cuts so far and what i have learned is that i don’t seem to build muscle or gain weight easily, the only time i have ever gained weight in my life was when i lived solidly on a diet of cheese pizza, chocolate and other rubbish, but even at my biggest i was never overweight and was only 6-7lb higher than my current weight. I’ve also learned that my body needs carbs, i crash and burn without them.

I’m currently sitting at about 18% body fat and i have reasonable muscle tone, i have good striation and even some vascularity on my top half and the fat is stored in my lower half (typical woman) but even at my fattest i still had visable abb’s and quite defined arms.

However during the last 12 months i still havn’t really gained the size i want my arms are skinny and when i cut below 16% fat i start to look like a crack whore. We’ve just started to bulk again but im not 100% im happy with my program im really not sure she’s got my intake high enough.

I know some people are agaisnt the full hard bulk but i’ve done 2 other bulks in the last few months with very disappointing muscle gains, i know it’s always a slow process but i really don’t feel i’ve progressed as much as i should be and i actually managed to lose fat/weight during both bulks.

I was reading this article

and i think that sort of sounds like me… i gain weight of any kind slowly and have always had a reasonably defined body and i do work better with carbs, but how do i know for sure??